

Belmont County Chapter P.O. Box 372 Bridgeport, OH 43912

President. – Jerry Moore II Vice President -Levar Martin Vice President II- Donneshia Johnson Secretary – Kortney Hilson-Pitts Treasurer – Tamara Hocker Assistant Secretary- Micheala Berardi

2024-2025 BELMONT COUNTY NAACP COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP CONTEST

The Belmont County Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the "NAACP," is sponsoring a college scholarship contest in the 2024-2025 school year for the following e Belmont County high schools: Martins Ferry, Bridgeport, Bellaire, St. John Central Academy, Shadyside, St. Clairsville, East Richland Christian School, Belmont Career Center, Union Local, Barnesville, and Olney Friends. Five (5) Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00) cash college NAACP scholarships will be awarded to five seniors graduating in 2025. The NAACP scholarships shall be awarded to the students who have timely submitted the four best essays addressing the topic of "What I will do in the Spring of 2025 to promote the acceptance of RACIAL AND CULTURAL DIFFERENCES at my high school." The NAACP scholarship contest has the following rules:

- 1. On or before the deadline of midnight, Saturday, March 29, 2025 the contestant shall submit a type-written essay addressing the topic online as a PDF document to the Belmont County NAACP email address of naacp.belmontcounty@gmail.com
- 2. By submitting an essay, the contestant, his or her parents and/or legal guardians, represent to the NAACP that the essay is the original product of the contestant, the essay is not subject to a copyright, and the essay shall be the exclusive property of the NAACP.
- 3. The essay shall be typed in New Times Roman or Georgia font size twelve, double spaced, and no longer than two pages on 8 ½ x 11 letter pages. At the end of the essay, the contestant shall put their name, high school, and email address.
- 4. The essay shall be scored on the following TEN-point standard: FIVE points for content, ONE point for grammar, ONE point for spelling and THREE points for originality. Any essay which contains plagiarism, as determined at the sole discretion of the NAACP, shall be disqualified.
- 5. The essay shall be the sole writing product of the contestant. However, the contestant may have the essay proofread for proper grammar and spelling by anyone (parents, teachers, friends, etc.) except for a member of the NAACP. The contestant may also have the essay reviewed by anyone, except for a member of the NAACP, for compliance with the Rules of the Contest.

NAACP Executive Committee

Jerry Moore II Jerry Moore Sr.

Kortney Hilson-Pitts LeVar Martin

Frank Ferrel Terri Kropka

James Agnew III Donneisha Johnson Micheala Berardi

Tamara Hocker Linda Mehl

Tania Hocker

NAACP is a civil rights group that seeks equality for all people and seeks out change in health care, economy, criminal justice, education and many others areas.

- 6. The essays shall be graded anonymously to avoid any semblance of bias toward any school or candidate. The NAACP scholarship winners will be announced in April of 2025.
- 7. The winners shall be presented their scholarship checks by the NAACP at the awards banquet of their respective high schools or otherwise.
- 8. Each winner shall be given two complimentary tickets to the 2025 NAACP Steak Fry on June 6, 2025, be expected to attend if feasible, and be prepared to present their essay to the audience.

Respectfully submitted,

BELMONT COUNTY NAACP

Michael P. McCormick, Esq., Scholarship Chairperson Jerry E. Moore, II, President